Thursday, July 13, 2017

Countryside Scorecard

Alright, party people. Here's the scorecard for The Memorial. I've played this course a few times, and it's not easy despite the ability to play it short. Especially if it's wet out there.

I imagine there will be a handful of people who want to move back to the Blue tees. So if you want to do so, LET ME KNOW ASAP!

Moving from Whites to Blues gets you at least 2 strokes (probably 3) and moving to Golds gets you at least 4 strokes.



14 comments:

J.W. said...

I'll play the blues.

Chandler said...

Savage. You picked up 3 bonus strokes. I'd only get two so, F that S.

J.W. said...

Shit. Just saw the handicap update.

J.W. said...

And yours is even worse. That 3.3 differential in a non-league event hurts.

Greg Gleason said...

I'll tee from either of the back tees if there's a group hitting from back there

Chandler said...

Yeah... I always ruin my handicap with non-league events. Definitely can't win the season now. Congrats, Casey!

And Greg, just play where you like. I've been in a group where 3 different tees were being used. It's not really slower if people are paying attention and ready to go. Only problem is, the subset of golfers in this league that pay attention is quite small.

Michael Hauch said...

Well this is bullshit, moving from whites to blues doesn't give me any extra strokes

Michael Hauch said...

I'll play blue anyway

Chandler said...

You would hypothetically get two extra strokes, if you were in the tournament. I'll explain why on Sunday.

But yes, as far as playing individually, your course handicap is the same on whites and blues.

Michael Hauch said...

Is t because you get to make your own rules? Either way whites are to short, and speaking of short, ill
Join faz on the blues

Chandler said...

It's always good to assume we do things "because I say so," but in this case... it's part of the USGA handicap calculation for matches on split tees.

Read about it here and here.

Michael Hauch said...

Since they say to round wouldn't anybody going from whites to blues get 2 strokes since it is a 2.4 difference? And not some get 2 and some get 3? Maybe I'm still a tad confused

Chandler said...

Correct. Everyone gets an automatic 2. However the change in slope gives some people and extra stroke. Sadly for your 8 handicap, you wouldn't get that extra stroke (as you already noticed).

Michael Hauch said...

Makes sense. This is why I don't do math before coffee