Sunday, July 8, 2012

Stroke and Distance

So there was one bit of controversy at the Gorecki Par-3 Shootout... involving Gorecki. Initally the dispute was left as a "we'll figure this out later" issue. But when we got in the clubhouse and realized Mike and Geoff tied for 3rd place, the disagreement now affected the season standings.

After a few beers, we decided the only fair (and funny) thing to do was to make Gorecki go back out on the course and finish what he started. We also had to bet him a no-risk $6.

The Dispute

On the par-4 5th hole, Mike's tee shot found the right rough. The ball was sitting nicely on top of a hill, and he had about 110 yards remaining to the pin. He hit his second shot long over a hill beyond the green. Unfortunately, the only thing past the hill is the cart path, a couple of trees, about 3 feet of hard dirt and Waters Avenue.

We couldn't find his ball and concluded it must have rolled into the street, which is clearly "out of bounds" (according to the white stakes and local rule).

I inform Mike that he technically has to go re-hit from his previous location (with penalty). But Mike wanted to take a penalty drop where the ball went into the street. He claimed that with people behind us, it was appropriate to maintain "pace of play." The problem with Mike's logic is that he was taking his penalty 110 yards CLOSER to the hole.

In casual games, pace of play IS important... so the standard allowance is to drop near where the ball went OB and take a two-stroke penalty (keep in mind that isn't really legal either). I offer up this option to Mike, who immediately objected, stating that he'd rather go re-hit the ball from the previous spot since he would probably get it on the green and improve his score.

Eventually he finishes out the hole only taking one penalty, carding a 6 while the rest of the group thinks he should have a 7.

Why Mike is Wrong

Look at these two diagrams:

#1 - This is what Mike did to record a 6. Notice how shot 3 (yellow line) is a penalty stroke dropped near where his ball went out of bounds. Doing so required him to make a short chip for his 4th shot... and then a two-putt for a six.



#2 - This is what Mike actually needed to do to record a 6. His penalty drop should have been back at the previous location, requiring him to make a long 4th shot to the green. Assuming he gets it on the green, he could then two-putt for a six.



Of course, Gorecki was quick to point out that he could get on and one-putt for a five. But that's not likely to happen. The 4th shot in #1 is way more desirable than #2. Which is why hitting a ball OB is the worst thing you can do in golf.

The Resolution

Once we realized there was a tie for 3rd and drank a few beers while arguing over it... we deiced to go back out to the 5th hole and let Mike replay his 4th shot from 110 yards out. He grumbled about being "cold" and having "more beer in him"... so we gave him a few practice shots into the water (not toward the green). His first "real" attempt was chunked about 20 feet in front of him. But Geoff, being the generous person he is, gave Mike another chance:

 


We ended up letting him take a 7 instead of an 8... but it doesn't matter. Geoff got 3rd place by himself and all 150 DPT points. Hopefully everyone now better understands the OB rules... but I'm not holding my breath.

1 comment:

Geoff said...

I'm going to start disputing someone's score every week... This is blogging GOLD!